Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final

Central Coast Mariners Clinch Back-to-Back A-League Championships, securing historic treble with Win Over Melbourne Victory

27 May 2024

The Central Coast Mariners have defended their title in front of a sold-out crowd, defeating Melbourne Victory 3-1 in a gripping Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final at the Industree Group Stadium in Gosford on Saturday, May 25th. The historic match not only marked the venue's debut as a Grand Final host but also the first time the Central Coast region has hosted a National Grand Final in a professional sporting code, drawing the eyes of the nation to this coastal hub and setting an all-time attendance record for the stadium.

The Mini D-MAX made a memorable return, kicking off the match by delivering the match ball onto the pitch. With a record-breaking attendance of 21,379 fans at Industree Group Stadium, the Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final was the most watched Isuzu UTE A-League match broadcasted on Network 10 and 10Play history, captivating a total of 1.12 million Australians on Saturday night. The atmosphere was electric as both teams entered the field, each determined to claim the prestigious Isuzu UTE A-League title.

In a scoreless first half, the match remained tied at 0-0 until Melbourne Victory's Jason Geria broke the deadlock with an impressive strike, putting his team ahead 1-0. Just when it seemed Central Coast Mariners were out of time, Ryan Edmondson delivered a stunning goal in the 91st minute, pushing the game into extra time.

The Central Coast Mariners carried this momentum into extra time, with 18-year-old Miguel Di Pizio scoring from close range to become the youngest goal scorer in an Australian men's national league Grand Final. Adding to the night's historic achievements, captain Danny Vukovic became the oldest player ever to feature in an Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final, highlighting the blend of youthful energy and veteran experience that defined this special Mariners’ team.

On their home ground, the Central Coast Mariners kept the excitement alive. Ryan Edmondson's stellar performance was capped with a decisive goal in the 120th minute, securing a 3-1 victory over Melbourne Victory and earning him the Joe Marston Medal for player of the match.

In an intense battle, the reigning premiers not only clinched back-to-back A-League Championships but also made history by securing a treble, becoming the first Australian team to win the A-League Premiership, Championship, and AFC Cup in the same season. The atmosphere at Industree Group Stadium was electric, with local supporters turning out in droves to witness the history-making performance. The victory not only solidifies the Central Coast Mariners' position as a powerhouse in Australian football but also shines a spotlight on the Central Coast as a premier sporting destination.

The 2024 Isuzu UTE A-League Men’s Grand Final was broadcast live across Australia on Network 10 and streamed exclusively on 10Play and Paramount+, ensuring that fans nationwide could witness the Central Coast Mariners' triumph.

With this victory, the Central Coast Mariners have etched their name into the annals of Australian football history, securing a legacy that will be remembered for years to come.

Following the match, Isuzu UTE Managing Director Junta Matsui congratulated both teams on a remarkable season.

"Seeing such an incredible turnout of passionate fans for both teams was the perfect conclusion to an exciting finals series and highlighted a remarkable third season of partnership with the A-League,” said Junta Matsui.

“We offer our heartfelt congratulations to the Central Coast Mariners for their outstanding victory, as well as to runners-up Melbourne Victory. We eagerly anticipate our continued collaboration with the A-League and Network 10, as we strive to bring the joy of football to all Australians in the upcoming season."

Looking back on the season, Australian Professional Leagues’ Commissioner, Nick Garcia, expressed his gratitude to Isuzu UTE for their support.

"This season we have seen more football, more goals, more fans and more opportunities to connect with football, and Isuzu UTE have been key in making that growth possible. We thank them for their support and look forward to continuing to supercharge our game together."

Rounding out the season, Melbourne Victory’s Bruno Fornaroli was awarded the Isuzu UTE A-League Goal of the Year and Joe Lolley from Sydney FC was presented with the Alex Tobin Medal, earning him the prize of $10,000 cash, and selecting the Macquarie Dragons Football Club to receive an Isuzu D-MAX X-TERRAIN as part of his prize package.

Alex Tobin Medal Winner - Joe Lolley (Upper Middle) and Macquarie Dragons Football Club

As the naming rights partner of the A-League Men's competition, Isuzu UTE supports the League with a fleet of vehicles, which are utilised for ground and operations support, as well as engaging grassroots communities to inspire the next generation.

For more information about our partnership, click here.